When we delete a file, it does not mean that the actual data of the file get erased. The actual file becomes invisible to the OS. Eventually, the hard drive will write new data over the space where the old file is located. This space is marked as an unused space & we can save any new file on this space. This means that the data is still available on the drive as an unused space and there is a possibility of data recovery from unused space.
The step by step instructions below are posted according to different situations such as “how files are deleted” & “chances of recovery” from unused space. Please choose whichever is more appropriate and convenient in your case:
Simply Delete a File: When we accidently delete a file, it moved in to the recycle bin. In this case, recovery chances is 100% only need to use restore file from recycle bin.
SHIFT + DELETE: If files are deleted by the function shift + deleted that means your files are gone even from the Recycle Bin. In this case, as sooner you try to recover your deleted files, the chances of successful file recovery will be high. For that purpose you require good hdd recovery software which is specially designed to recover deleted files/folders which are lost even from recycle bin.
Note: Whenever you delete or lost your files or folder, don’t save anything on that drive from which data has been lost, otherwise recovery of that data will be next to impossible.
Rules of data recovery software
- One of the important rules of data recovery is that you must never write to the hard disk that contains the files you want to restore.
- All data recovery software recommends to save recovered data to a different location.
- Don't run software on same location from where you want to restore the file.
Follow all above steps & data recovery will become very easy.